Recent News
The 4th Session of the ATU Conference of Plenipotentiaries (CPL-14) took place in Harare, Zimbabwe on 10th July, 2014 at the kind invitation of the Government of the Republic of Zimbabwe. The Conference was preceded by the Special Session of the Administrative Council from 3-4 July, 2014, the 2nd African Preparatory Meeting for ITU PP-14 from 7-8 July, 2014 and the meeting of the Conference Preparatory Committee on 9th July, 2014 respectively.
The Conference of Plenipotentiaries was attended by Ministers and delegates from thirty (30) Members States, and several observers.
The objective of the Conference was to determine the general policy which the Union must follow in order to achieve its objectives as specified in the Constitution which includes approval of the Strategic Plan for the next period 2015-2018), , adopt the principle of contribution to the budget of the Union and determine the scale of contribution by Member States and Associate members, revise the Constitution and the Convention and elect/re-elect the Secretary General and Members of the Administrative Council for the next four years among others.

Mr. Soumaila Abdoulkarim from Niger was re-elected as the Secretary General of ATU for a second term.

The Conference is the supreme organ of the Union and meets in ordinary session every four (4) years in accordance with relevant provisions of the Union’s Constitution and Convention.


La 3ème et dernière GE06 coordination du plan de fréquences et la réunion de modification pour les pays africains ont conclu la coordination du Plan GE06 et l'exercice de la modification en vue de RR 5.312A Footnote lues conjointement avec la CMR-12 Résolution 232.

Cet atelier qui s'est tenu à l'Hôtel Hilton, Nairobi du 17-19 Juillet 2013 a été organisée par l'Union africaine des télécommunications (UAT) en collaboration avec l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) et aimablement accueillie par le gouvernement du Kenya à travers la Commission des communications du Kenya (CCK). La réunion a été suivie par 124 participants de 35 pays africains, l'UIT Radiocommunications Secteur UIT, le développement du secteur, EACO, GSMA et la Banque mondiale.